Day 18: Productiveness

April 18, 2009

With the introduction of BEDA buddies, I’ve really felt like I should step it up a little. So, because of this pressure, I’ve decided to do absolutely nothing different from what I usually do. Which sort of works, in a cyclical way. 

I’ve been watching Demetri Martin videos. In one series, he talks about a point system he used at one point in his life to reflect and reevaluate himself and improve as a person. Every week, he graded himself based on how well he ate, worked out, socialized, committed himself to his self and others, and much, much more. You can watch the beginning of the series here, but you have to go all the way through to fully understand what I’m trying to get at.

It’s an interesting perspective, in and of itself. It makes life an assignment. When you sit around doing absolutely nothing for the entire week, you fail. If you go out there and try and be social and live your life*, then you pass with flying colors. Not only do you feel good about yourself, but a sense of pride that you actually set out and accomplished something comes with it. Or at least, I’m hoping it will–I plan to try this out with my sister in the next week or so.

On an unrelated note, I have completely and entirely come to terms with my perpetual relationship status. I’m very content being where I am in life right now, and I think it’s excellent for me to realize this. Life is no longer grabbing on to moments while they pass me by; it’s more planning and seeing through and looking forward to the future instead of holding on to the past.

Completely unrelated, I thought of this at around 11:30 last night, and wanted to remember it for a future novel or story or anything of the sort; it’s just a little squib, and I’m mostly posting it on here in order to remember it myself: tear me up and rip me down. I think the reason why I like it so much is that tear and rip essentially mean the same thing, but up and down are obviously polar opposites. The phrases mean exactly the same thing, but in essence they are very different. I enjoy the eclecticism of it all.

Something notsome: The realization that not all people are made of pure goodness.
Something awesome: Just about everything else.

*please, please don’t associate that with the cult that is American Eagle.

Leave a Reply

