An Introduction;

June 8, 2009

As many of you know (just Sarah), I’m planning on doing NaNoWriMo this coming November. I’ve had some free time recently, and have written up (what I’m hoping to be) the introduction to the story. Without further adieu, here it is:

I stared at the clock, willing the tick of the second hand take over my mind: it has been exactly three weeks, four days, nineteen hours and seven minutes since it happened. My life as I knew it was ripped up and tore down, and I was pulled away from everything that I ever knew and loved. For three and a half weeks, I have put up a mask of artlessness in order to fade away into the background, into nothing but the memory of my soul. I’ve drifted in and out of the present, avoiding social contact and obligations.

I slowly peeled off my knee socks, shaking the right one limply until a small, golden pendant fell out onto the maple-wood flooring, its chain coiling haphazardly around it. My bare feet hit the floor as I scooped up the keepsake and walked towards the open balcony door. My hair swirled wildly around my face, obscuring my vision momentarily as I looked out over the courtyard currently littered with students. It was a familiar sight: it never changed, yet was always entertaining. In the corner, a petite blond girl made out with a guy who wasn’t her boyfriend (the third one this week: I marveled at how rapidly her thirst for something new changed quasi-daily), wrongly assuming they were concealed by the numerous rose bushes. A group of teachers conspired against their students by the window, and a quartet of studious kids with their books open and calculators out. There was a girl I presumed to be new, her fiery red hair splayed across the grass with her belongings by her side, watching a group of boys jokingly act out theater scenes while faking disinterest. I swung the pendant back and forth, watching it glitter in the sunlight, and I suddenly realized something: we are all alone. Alone in the way we think, and act, and live, struggling not to be judged by our peers. We are all alone, and it’s up to us to do something about it. I slid the pendant’s thin chain around my neck, tucking it under the white blouse of my uniform, and resolved to find some scissors and a new beginning.

Shotty, I know, but I’ll edit it into glory. But in all honesty, it’ll just be an extremely exaggerated form of my life.

2 Responses to “An Introduction;”

  1. Sarah Lynch Says:

    Dude, I’m excited.
    I still want to do NanoWrimo but I don’t think I am clever or persistent enough to write a story. I’m too lazy. I’ll try… but I think I’ll fail.


  2. When I do it, it’ll probably end up being like BEDA. I’ll love it around the fourth or fifth day, and then I’ll hate it and want to die.
    Mostly NaNoWriMo is just an excuse for me to not do it now.


Leave a Reply

