In which I ramble about: Timed Essays and Apples

September 1, 2009

In my advanced composition class today, we had to write an in-class essay. Now, considering my grassroots, I like to think I’m pretty competent with timed essays. I’ve been writing them since freshman year, with Pre-AP Geography. I was doing pretty well, if I do say so myself, about to get to the climax of the essay (YES, my essays have climaxes. They’re RIVETING, I tell you), and he’s like, “STOP!”

Wait, what the HELL? I’m thinking. I had only just finished my third paragraph (of five), and had a BRAIN BLAST, practically. The only thing I didn’t think about: for the past three years, in blocked scheduling, we typically got fifty minutes an essay. HOW THE HELL am I supposed to write the same amount with THIRTY MINUTES shaved off? THIS IS BLASPHEMY! It was a really good essay, too, about leaving home and stuff. I’ll probably post it when I get the paper back… only, he said he’s not giving them back until the end of the year… In other words, I’ll forget.

On a completely unrelated note, my sister got me an apple that she picked from a tree on her way home. THIS APPLE is not any ordinary apple. It’s SHINY. It looks like a glass apple. Seriously! I plan on stopping by this tree every day for the rest of my life and taking ALL OF THEIR APPLES. No, I haven’t tasted it yet, but I can just TELL that it’s going to be one fantastic apple.

Also, I want to say HI TO LINDA, who just told me she’s reading my blog because she wants “inspiration…to write a college essay for English”, and that makes me feel special. :D

One Response to “In which I ramble about: Timed Essays and Apples”

  1. Linda Says:

    HI TO YOU TOO. =)


Leave a Reply

